Wicker basket – the original bag for life

A wicker basket. Sturdy. Durable. Excellent cost per wear/use. So what did we do on this glorious earth? Create the plastic bag. Brilliant. Utterly brilliantly stupid!

image

The original bag for life works. I know you can’t fold it up and oh heavens you have to remember to carry it. Honestly when did we get like this?

Plastic is polluting our oceans. Swimming with dolphins in the future may involve seeing a 1987 Tesco bag floating past. Doesn’t feel right does it? I try to refuse (no pun intended) carrier bags as much as possible. Of course sometimes we get caught out. Sometimes we want a gift bag type thing but for a handful of things from the corner shop? Really?

Many plastic bags carry biogedradable labels or declare they are made from so many per cent recycled products. These are really paying lip service. We need to change. We can change. We see them as an endless resource. They are made from oil.

Perfection is I’ve found damn hard. It keeps moving the goalposts. Very sneaky. I swear evil twin fairies help em out at night moving those goalposts *shakes goalposts*

So maybe let’s not aim for perfection. Let’s aim for better. One less carrier bag each a week, a month or whenever soon adds up.

A visit to this wonderful place (deets below) has made me so inspired. To do things simpler. I have a way to go. But if you see me carrying the basket pictured with white gloves and a polka dot ensemble – well just don’t mock me ok? Well ok then mock me – but I must warn you I’m armed with a very sturdy wicker basket! *shakes basket*

The Willows & Wetlands Centre

http://www.englishwillowbaskets.co.uk

Have a brilliant day,

Melanie

PS: Not sponsored to write this. I love #BritishMade products.

PPS: Ok, ok. I love Wicker baskets. And white gloves.

7 thoughts on “Wicker basket – the original bag for life

  1. I have always adored wicker baskets, I dreamed of shopping with one and thankfully I can without too many raised eyebrows. About 10 years ago when I bought my bike I wanted a wicker basket for the front, I was pressurised by my then teenage children not to, as they would have been embarrassed. A couple of years later and we see the popularity of ‘old fashioned’ bikes… maybe I am before my time or perhaps, (as I suspect) a little behind the times!

    Your basket is beautiful – use it and wear those white gloves.. set a trend. x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! They sell such a variety of things – blackberry pickers, saddles (I know!). Pretty sure they may do bike things too. I may try and sew a simple inner for it that I can wash. I mainly want to use it at the grocers near me. I love British made stuff. I want to swim with dolphins one day, not a heap of plastic flotsam. If a scarf wrapped around the head too much for this look? ☺️

      Like

  2. Beautiful basket. I agree, there is a lot we can do with very little effort. I went to a wicker workshop last year and was told there’s a such an upsurge for people wanting to return to using wicker rather than plastic there’s now a shortage of wicker workers. Such a shame these old skills have gone to near extinction, but great to know they’re coming back and along with them a more world friendly way of living.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for commenting 👏
      I love animals and anything that harms them I find upsetting. And filling their habitat and their food with plastic remnants is just so wrong. I predict wicker is coming back. I mean who’d have thought beards would be!
      I hope to do a workshop in the future. I bet it’s quite a skill. They sell off cuts as kindle. You could probably craft with them in some way too. I’m now addicted! 😁

      Liked by 1 person

      • I live in the South West, so we have A LOT of coast and so are reminded far more often of all the awful damage waste plastic does to sea life and birds. You’re right, wicker is coming back. Definitely do a workshop, it’s great fun and amazing what you can do even as a beginner. If you really get hooked, it may be a whole new career – if that’s what you’re interested in. There really is a resurgence.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

